Gale of impeachment at Kogi House of Assembly

Spread the love






Kogi State House of Assembly on Friday impeached the deputy speaker, RT. Hon. Ahmed Muhammed and three other principal officers of the House.

Others impeached include Majority Speaker – Bello Hassan Abdullahi, Deputy Majority leader – Ndakwo Idris and Deputy Chief Whip – Moses Ododo.

In an emergency sitting held at the Assembly Complex in Lokoja on Friday, the lawmakers accused Ahmed Muhammed of gross mis-conduct and arbitrariness in the discharge of his official assignment.

In a motion of urgent importance read by Hon. Enema Paul, member representing (Dekina/Okura), State Constituency, he said 17 lawmaker signed the impeachment  of Hon. Ahmed Mohammed and others, adding that the affected members were also suspended from the house.

The three principal officers removed from office and later suspended from the house are the Deputy Speaker, RT. Hon. Ahmed Muhammed, Bello Hassan Balogun, Majority Leader, and Hon. Moses Ododo, Chief Whip.

The House thereafter elected Alfa Momoh Rabiu, lawmaker representing Ankpa II as the new Deputy Speaker of the state assembly.

The new principal officers elected are Hon. Muktar Bajeh, (Majority Leader), Umar Isah Tanimu, ( Deputy Majority Leader), Enema Paul, (Deputy Chief Whip), and Ahmed Dahiru, (Chief Whip).

The Speaker, Prince Mathew Kolawole had earlier announced the dissolution of all the house standing committee

Our correspondent reports that there was heavy presence of security personnel’s at the Assembly complex consisting of the Nigerian Police, Nigeria Security and Civil Defence Corps, (NSCDC) and Department of State Services, (DSS).

Ahmed Muhammed, the impeached Deputy Speaker is the lawmaker representing Akpa I in the Kogi State House of Assembly.

17 out of the 25 lawmakers were present during the impeachment process.

Spread the love

About the author


Add Comment

Click here to post a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *